Child Development Research Guide

In this accessible and thought-provoking text, the author examines the behaviour of babies and young children in a developmental context, and takes into account the shifts and changes over time as young children grow and mature. Understanding Behaviour and Development in Early Childhood reveals, for example, how behaviour perceived as 'difficult' in a young child may be the manifestation of a response to emotional, sensory and cognitive experiences. Throughout the book, readers will find a strong emphasis on emotional well-being and the need to place our understanding of behaviour within a developmental time frame. Based on wide ranging professional experience the topics examined and discussed in this insightful book include: what we understand by 'behaviour' how the brain and senses work and mature during early childhood behaviour as a reflection of the child's internal state what emotions are and how we learn what feelings mean to us as individuals how emotions affect our ability to learn how we develop a sense of self. The book provides suggestions for how adults may think about and respond to changes in children's behaviour, and how we may support children in learning how to manage their own behaviour as they grow older and encounter wider and more complex situations. Understanding the meaning of behaviour is a constant challenge for anyone working with children. This developmental approach promotes a helpful reflective stance for practitioners and students working in early childhood education and care.

A highly effective recommended practice in early childhood education, intentional teaching enhances all young children's learning through planned instructional strategies, conversations, and activities that build on each child's needs and interests. Now there's an evidence-based professional development framework--the LEARN IT approach--that helps educators put intentional teaching into action in their classrooms. Developed by the authors, LEARN IT strengthens teaching in five steps: Learning new knowledge and skills, Enacting knowledge and skills in the classroom, Assessing the effectiveness of instructional interactions, Reflecting on and revising practices based on the assessment, and Networking with colleagues and mentors. Through unique professional development activities that build skills through group meetings and individual mentoring sessions, teachers will master essential elements of intentional teaching and consistently apply their new knowledge in the classroom. Practical, flexible, and supportive, this proven plan for professional development will help schools make lasting gains in teacher effectiveness and boost learning outcomes for all young children. Benefits of LEARN IT: Demystifies key elements of intentional teaching. Educators will discover how to facilitate play, include each child, engage in culturally responsive practice, assess diverse young children, and link assessment with curriculum and instruction. Engages teachers with effective activities. Facilitated professional development activities build teachers' skills through group meetings, one-to-one sessions between educators and mentors, and follow-up small-group meetings to discuss progress. Ensures lasting improvements. Going far beyond one-time teacher trainings, the authors' in-depth, ongoing LEARN IT approach ensures that educators retain new skills and strategies and apply them with fidelity in their everyday work. Evidence-based and field-tested. LEARN IT was developed and tested for effectiveness during a multiyear research project with Head Start teachers. Fits a variety of professional development needs. LEARN IT can be used with larger or smaller groups of teachers, and activities are flexible and adaptable to different learning needs. PRACTICAL MATERIALS: The professional development activities come with clear and detailed instructions; reproducible self-assessments, discussion questions, and exercises; and check sheets to ensure that new skills are implemented with fidelity.

This definitive volume is the result of collaboration by top scholars in the field of children's cognition. New edition offers an up-to-date overview of all the major areas of importance in the field, and includes new data from cognitive neuroscience and new chapters on social cognitive development and language  Provides state-of-the-art summaries of current research by international specialists in different areas of cognitive development Spans aspects of cognitive development from infancy to the onset of adolescence Includes chapters on symbolic reasoning, pretend play, spatial development, abnormal cognitive development and current theoretical perspectives

In this volume, leading researchers and implementation experts from an array of disciplines provide evidence-based, cost-effective, and actionable strategies for delivering quality early childhood education (ECE) at scale in low- and middle-income countries (LMICS).Over the past decade, neuroscientists, developmental and cognitive psychologists, economists, and education researchers have amassed evidence to inform ECE program design. Yet much of this evidence has not been readily accessible to policymakers and practitioners, and potential synergies from cross-disciplinary considerations have not been realized.Quality Early Learning: Nurturing Children's Potential synthesizes the evidence across disciplines and charts a forward course for quality ECE. The volume includesOverview, From Evidence to Effective Policies: How to Invest in Early Childhood Education to Nurture Children's Potential, by Magdalena Bendini, Amanda E. Devercelli, Elaine Ding, Melissa Kelly, and Adelle Pushparatnam Chapter 1, Learning in the Early Years, by Elizabeth Spelke and Kristin ShuttsChapter 2, Pedagogy and Curricula Content: Building Foundational Skills and Knowledge, by David Whitebread and Yasmin SitabkhanChapter 3, Building an Effective Early Childhood Education Workforce, by Nirmala Rao, Emma Pearson, Benjamin Piper, and Carrie LauChapter 4, Creating Early Childhood Education Environments That Promote Early Learning, by Cynthia Adlerstein and Alejandra CortázarChapter 5, The Role of Management, Leadership, and Monitoring in Producing Quality Learning Outcomes in Early Childhood Education, by Iram Siraj, Violeta Arancibia, and Juan BarónChapter 6, Toward Quality Early Learning: Systems for Success, by Sharon Lynn Kagan and Caitlin M. DermodyIn the volume, the authors provide the latest evidence on how young children learn most effectively and how ECE programs can foster children's natural ability and motivation to learn. It offers guidance for policy makers on policy design and implementation including what elements of ECE to prioritize in resource- and capacity-constrained settings in LMICs.

Play Is Important Work As an early childhood educator, you knowhow important play is for young children. You also know that selecting theright play materials to include in your program matters; there are so manyoptions, and often your budget does not stretch to cover everything. With thisbook, discover ideas for both familiar and new play materials and how thosematerials support the cognitive, social and emotional, and physical learningand development of children from birth to age 3. This practical, easy-to-read resource ·       Presents foundational information organizedaround the who, why, how, and what of using play materials to support veryyoung children's learning and development ·       Provides suggestions for play materialsand describes why they are useful for different aspects related to eachlearning and development domain ·       Includes safety considerations and tipson a range of topics, including climbing, choking hazards, and interacting withanimals ·       Recommends more than 75 children's booksthat go hand-in-hand with each learning and development domain With a thoughtful selection ofappropriate play materials, you can enhance the quality of your program bycreating an environment and providing experiences that enable all children tothrive.

Clear, Relevant, Evidence-Based Guidance to Support Early Childhood Educators  Academic's Choice Awards Smart Book Winner.  Developmentally appropriate practice is the foundation on which quality early learning is built. The fourth edition of this classic, influential text addresses developmentally appropriate practice within the context of the ever-changing and evolving world of early childhood education. With a strong focus on equity and teaching and supporting all children, it underscores the importance of social, cultural, and historical contexts of development.   Research Based  Based on what the research says about child development, how children learn, and effective practices--as well as what professional experience tells the field about intentional teaching--this book provides a thorough discussion of the core considerations, principles, and guidelines that inform educators' decision making. You'll find extensive examples of effective approaches for teaching children across the early childhood spectrum as well as specific examples for infants and toddlers, preschoolers, kindergartners, and children in the primary grades.  Even More Resources for Early Childhood Professionals  This edition provides a comprehensive approach to implementing practices that ensure all young children have access to high-quality early learning. New resources in the book and online support higher education faculty, K-3 leaders, and early childhood educators in extending their own and others' knowledge and application of developmentally appropriate practice.  For higher education faculty:  * Suggested activities, assignments, and reflections that correspond to specific content in the book, key areas of practice in NAEYC's position statement on developmentally appropriate practice, and the professional standards and competencies  * A test bank to create quick quizzes    For K-3 leaders:  * Considerations for incorporating developmentally appropriate practice into K-3 schools and programs, including those that provide pre-K, to foster children's joyful learning and maximize learning opportunities for all children For early childhood educators:  * Tips and resources for engaging with content in the book, extending learning with additional resources, and collaborating with others in the early childhood learning community