Resource Guide/English 101 & 102/Colon

The Alabama Virtual Library provides all students, teachers, and citizens of the State of Alabama with online access to essential library and information resources. It is primarily a group of online databases that have magazine, journal, and newspaper articles for research. Through the AVL, an equitable core of information sources is available to every student and citizen in Alabama, raising the level of excellence in schools and communities across the state.

A multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. (This resource is provided by the Alabama Virtual Library.)

Gale Power Search provides simultaneous searching across a variety of Gale databases including: Gale General OneFile, Gale Literature, Gale in Context, Gale eBooks and more (This resource is provided by the Alabama Virtual Library.)

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is a database of indexed and full-text education literature resources. ERIC content includes: Over 1.6 million records, Links to over 750,000 full-text documents, Access to an education-specific thesaurus that contains over 11,700 terms. (This resource is provided by the Alabama Virtual Library.)

AlabamaMosaic is a repository of digital materials on Alabama's history, culture, places, and people. Its purpose is to make unique historical treasures from Alabama's archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories electronically accessible to Alabama residents and to students, researchers, and the general public in other states and countries.

JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

* Students must make a free account, then they may read up to 100 articles for free a month.

60,000+ titles with content chosen to support 2-year and smaller 4-year colleges. Covers traditional areas like business, management, and nursing & allied health plus emerging areas like artificial intelligence and criminal justice. Topics to support job market gaps like advanced manufacturing, construction, and healthcare are also addressed. This resource also includes literature, history, sociological, and cultural eBooks.

Gale eBooks is a collection of e-books that covers a multitude of subjects including early learning, history, education, business, science, arts, and more.

Book Collection: Nonfiction is a cross-curricular database, designed for public libraries, that provides abstracts and searchable full-text for thousands of popular nonfiction books. Book Collection: Nonfiction content includes: 4,300 nonfiction books with abstracts and searchable full text, Popular series from book publishers such as Allosaurus Publishers, Capstone Press, Fulcrum Publishing, Morgan Reynolds, Inc., and more (This resource is provided by the Alabama Virtual Library.)

Britannica Academic is designed for college and university libraries and provides access to comprehensive information, as well as the combination of Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus. (This resource is provided by Alabama Virtual Library.)

The Encyclopedia of Alabama provides free access to reference resources on the culture, geography, history, and natural environment of Alabama. This is provided by the Alabama Humanities Alliance.

Gale Literature provides researchers with the ability to cross search Gale's literary resources. These resources include: Gale Literature Resource Center, Gale Literature: LitFinder, Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors, Gale Literature: Twayne's Authors Series, Gale Literature: Scribner Writers Series and more (This resource is provided by Alabama Virtual Library)

Gale Literature Resource Center is an online literature database that provides access to biographical information, full-text literary criticism, overviews, and reviews on over 130,000 writers. (Alabama Virtual Library)

Gale Literary Index is a master index for the major literature products that are published by Gale. Gale Literary Index content includes: Over 130 literature products from Gale, Imprints from Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers, Cross reference author names and listings for titles of works, Access to complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings

Contemporary Literary Criticism is a subset of the Gale Literature Criticism database. Contemporary Literary Criticism contains Vol. 1 through Vol. 499 of the Contemporary Contemporary Literary Criticism collection. (Alabama Virtual Library)

Gale Literature: Scribner Writer Series provides access to original scholarly essays on authors from all around the world. Gale Literature: Scribner Writer Series content includes: Essays on the lives and works of authors, Biographical information on the authors and their works, Citation information and more (Alabama Virtual Library)

Gale Literature: Twayne's Author Series introduces researchers to the lives and works of major writers. Gale Literature: Twayne's Author Series content includes: Analysis of major writers, Context for the time period that the writers lived in

Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study such as Business, Health, Criminal Justice, Science, Humanities, Political Science and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full-text for hundreds of national, international and regional newspapers, as well as television and radio transcripts from major networks. Newspaper Source content includes: Over 520 full-text newspapers, Over 33 million full-text articles (This resource is provided by Alabama Virtual Library.)

Ethnic NewsWatch provides access to full-text journals, magazines, and newspapers of the ethnic and minority press. Ethnic NewsWatch content includes: Over 2.5 million full-text articles, Information and opinions on topics not covered in mainstream publications, Selected dissertations and working papers, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959 to 1989 (Alabama Virtual Library)

Points of View Reference Source contains resources that present multiple sides of an issue. Points of View Reference Source content includes: 520 topics each with an overview, point, and counterpoint and Guide to Critical Analysis, Topics include Big Tech and Antitrust Law, Gender Equity in Professional Sports, Indian Child Welfare Act, Repatriation of Cultural Artifacts, and more (This resource is provided by Alabama Virtual Library.)

Academic Video Online is Alexander Street's most comprehensive video subscription. Launched in 2013, this expansive resource comprises the full content of dozens of video collections and bonus discipline clusters, and grows by 7,000 titles each year. Explore over 80,000 titles with subjects across all disciplines.