Psychology Research Guide

Provides basic consumer health information about physical, sexual, and emotional abuse of children and adolescents, along with facts about prevention and intervention strategies. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and directory of resources.

Examines health and wellness among Americans, including the ways in which illness is currently prevented, identified, and treated. Describes the most common types of chronic, degenerative, genetic, and infectious diseases, as well as the concepts of mental health and illness. Covers both traditional and alternative medicine.

Consumer health information about the signs, symptoms, and treatment of various mental illnesses, and the special mental health concerns of children and adolescents, older adults, and other groups, along with tips for maintaining mental wellness. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.

The Psych 101 eBook Sampler is a collection of excerpts (including all introductory pages and the first chapter) from each of the books in the Psych 101 series. This series offers short, reader-friendly introductions to cutting-edge topics in psychology. With key concepts, controversial topics, and fascinating accounts of up-to-the-minute research, it is an invaluable resource for all students of psychology and anyone interested in the field. The sampler includes excerpts from all the Psych 101 books, including: Giftedness 101 Personality 101 Emotional Intelligence Obesity 101 Humor 101 Psycholinguistics 101 Anxiety 101 Leadership 101 IQ Testing 101 Creativity 101 Genius 101

Neglect is a syndrome in which patients fail to attend to or respond to contralesional stimuli or events. Neglect has traditionally been considered a disorder of spatial attention. This book discusses various topics on neglect including neglect as a disorder of representational updating; trauma of sexual abuse and the family; the relationship between neglect and other childhood adversities; dietary neglect and its influence on feeding; landmark recognition and mental route navigation disorders in patients with imagery neglect and perceptual neglect; the exploration of unilateral spatial neglect through the phenomenon of mirror agnosia and the psychobiological consequences of emotional neglect.

What is psychology? What constitutes psychological research? How is psychological research reported? This student-friendly textbook answers all these questions by clearly outlining the subject matter and research methods used in psychology for those who are new to the subject. A brief overview of the history of psychology is followed by chapters covering the core research areas defined by the British Psychological Society: Cognitive psychology Social psychology Developmental psychology Biological psychology Individual differences Clinical psychology Each chapter provides an overview of a major sub-discipline in psychology and introduces the key concepts in that area of research. For each topic, a summary of an original research paper is presented along with a running commentary which explains and evaluates the methods used. In order to help students, the book provides boxes, tables and glossaries of useful terms. There is also a helpful overview of the ethics of psychological research, as well as how the study of psychology might develop into a career. Introducing Psychology Through Research is key reading for first year undergraduates in psychology, those taking an elective module in psychology and those studying psychology at AS or A2 Level and considering whether to study psychology at university.

This book presents topical research in the study of the psychology of power. Topics discussed in this compilation include a focus on the effect of perceived power on cognitive task performance; the psychology of language and power in the Middle East; social power and the junior leader paradox; communication and power and the role cultural differences play during inter-cultural business communication and parental control over mating across cultures and across time.

Optimism and pessimism are complementary, but opposing, dispositions. In general, optimists consistently expect good outcomes and pessimists consistently expect bad outcomes. These variations in human behaviour have profound mental and physical implications. The aim of the present work is to provide an overview of the psychology of pessimism. It is composed of four sections - I: How are optimism and pessimism measured?, II: What is the relationship between optimism and pessimism?, III: What is the relationship between optimism-pessimism and health?, and IV: What are the biology and chemistry of optimism-pessimism? For various reasons, rigorous analysis of pessimism has been difficult. Nonetheless, recent advances, including the development of numerous psychological batteries, have allowed for structured, scientific investigation. Indeed, several studies have examined the medical implications and biological and chemical bases of pessimism. Nonetheless, the psychology of pessimism is imperfect and further study is needed.