Nursing Resources

A comprehensive, accessible resource covering all aspects of teen health, including Drugs & Addictions, Going Online, Sexual Health, Health Myths, Your Mind & Body, and so much more. This new title from Salem Health is a comprehensive guide for those experiencing puberty or those who want to learn more about the crucial development of adolescents from age 13 to 19. Teen Health provides over 600 essays on the most important topics surrounding teen health. Written by medical professionals, these easy-to-understand articles reach across nearly 20 categories of health related issues important to teens.

A comprehensive, understandable resource covering all aspects of community and family health issues. A must-have source for public library and health collections of all sizes! The newest addition to the popular Salem Health series, Community & Family Health Issues provides over 900 understandable, clearly-written articles on a wide variety of topics. Written by experts from the healthcare and social services fields, articles provide helpful guidance on conditions, treatments, trends and issues facing children, families, and economically, physically or mentally disadvantaged members of the community. Over 900 entries are arranged in an easy-to-use A-Z format. Topics in this comprehensive resource fall under the following broad categories: Pediatric Health & Care Adolescent Health Parenting & Parent/Child Relations Adoption & Foster Care Poverty & Economic Challenges Domestic Violence Alcohol & Substance Abuse Aging & Elder Care Behavioral and Mental Issues Care for People with Disabilities End of Life Care Military & Veterans Care Diversity & Equality This new resource will be a helpful tool for those in need of support services, as well as their families, medical professionals, teachers, social workers, mental health professionals, and hospice providers. This guide is also a valuable asset to the collections of public libraries.

NEW! An accessible, comprehensive resource covering all aspects of human nutrition. Salem Health's newest title, Nutrition, offers researchers a one-stop source for comprehensive, easy-to-understand information on all aspects of human nutrition. This new tool is designed to inform users about healthy eating, the nutritional value of various foods, diets, eating disorders, dietary conditions and so much more. Salem Health: Nutrition provides in-depth articles on 300 topics in an easy-to-use A-Z format. Designed for high school, undergraduate and public libraries, entries are written in clear, understandable language to provide students and researchers with accessible, updated information important to gain an understanding of the many areas of human nutrition. Written by healthcare experts, the entries in Salem Health: Nutrition offer a comprehensive overview of a wide variety of topics, including: Dietary Conditions Diets Ethnic & Cultural References Healthy Eating Nutritional Health for Various Age Groups Skills & Checklists Vitamins & Minerals Dietary Guidelines Eating Disorders Foods Nutrition Best Practices Obesity Supplements

The set contains 610 essays on all aspects of infectious diseases, including pathogens and pathogenicity, transmission, the immune system, vaccines, diagnosis, prevention, treatment, and social concerns such as bioterrorism. These essays will interest science and premedical students, students of epidemiology and public health, public library patrons, and librarians building collections in science and medicine.

An A-Z encyclopedia offering nonspecialist information about 460 topics in genetics, from the science behind this important field to diseases that can be passed down among generations. The Printed Reference Three volumes, including 1,236 pages 459 Essays, 239 New 200 Photos & Illustrations Appendixes, indexes and resource listings Online Access Fully supported Unlimited users at your library Full access from home or dorm room Immediate access via online registration A simple, intuitive interface User profile areas for students and patrons Sophisticated search functions Complete content, including appendixes Fully illustrated Salem Health: Genetics and Inherited Conditions, Second Edition alphabetically arranges 459 essays on diseases, biology, techniques, methodologies, genetic engineering, biotechnology, ethics, and social issues.

This updated edition offers new information about over 900 topics in cancer. Written by physicians, nurses, and professional medical writers, this important resource will also be of interest to public library patrons, premedical students, and those building collections for the patient population. Coverage includes diseases, conditions, medications, procedures, specialists, social issues, personal coping tips, print and online academic resources, and support resources. Salem Health: Cancer, 2nd Edition alphabetically arranges over 900 essays on all aspects of cancer for all nonspecialist interest groups - from those who have been diagnosed to caregivers, family members, students, and readers with a general interest in health. The essays in this 4-volume set address diseases, conditions, symptoms, cancer-related syndromes, chemotherapy and other drugs and drug classes, cancer centers, genetics, the biology of cancer, medical specialties, tests, procedures, complimentary and alternative therapies, lifestyles, healthy and preventive strategies, and the many social and personal issues surrounding cancer, from cancer's impact on minority populations to personal finances, insurance, personal relationships, and emotional coping.

The set contains over 700 essays on a variety of topics, including acupuncture, aromatherapy, crystal healing, detoxification, herbal medicine, magnet therapy, probiotics, Qigong, traditional Chinese herbal medicine, vegan diets, and vitamins and minerals. The history of both complementary and alternative medicine is included, as are key figures such as Deepak Chopra. Other essays discuss important issues such as alternative versus traditional medicine.

Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, biology, and issues in an easy-to-use A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. In addition to completely new essays in this edition, all entries from the previous edition have been evaluated and updated by a panel of Medical Editors to ensure their currency and accuracy.